SoSLUG Archive

Debian – Timeline

Debian version names

As well as a distro’s version number, each release is generally given a name, which is reflected in some of the articles on this site. To put this into some kind of context, here is a timeline for the major Debian releases.

Debian 1.1 Buzz – released June 1996
Debian 2.0 (Hamm) – released July 1998
Debian 3.0 (Woody)- released July 19th, 2002
Debian 4.0 (Etch) – released April 8th, 2007
Debian 5.0 (Lenny) – released February 14th, 2009
Debian 6.0 (Squeeze) – released February 6th, 2011
Debian 7.0 (Wheezy) – released May 4th, 2013
Debian 8.0 (Jessie) – released April 25th, 2013

The code name for the next major Debian release is Stretch. No indication has yet been given when it will be released.

Author: Alan Campion - Page reference: 4695
Last modified: paul - 2015-08-19